Artist The String Cheese Incident
Date 12.29.2013
Tour New Year's Run 2013
Venue 1st Bank Center
City Broomfield, CO

Show Notes

Night two of the String Cheese Incident's New Year's Eve run was one for the books! While the first night featured 'a little' help from our friends, the second Incident of the three night run featured more friends from the band's past to help celebrate SCI's 20th year. After an intimate private backstage acoustic performance (which we've included here as bonus material), the band opened the second night for the sold-out 1stBank crowd with "BollyMunster," an adaptation of an old Irish Fiddle Tune with heavy Indian influences - a song which defines the unique sound the String Cheese Incident has become famous for. Next up, a rockin' version of Keith Moseley's "Sometimes A River" and smooth segue into Jean-Luc Ponty's "Rhum 'N Zouc" which gave Michael Kang a chance to solo on violin. The first of the guest sit-ins was next, with Steve and Wayne from the Flaming Lips joining SCI on stage for Merle Haggard's "Okie From Muskogee". The title track from the new studio album, Billy Nershi's "Song In My Head" was next up, followed by a non-stop jam of "Best Feeling" and "Restless Wind" to close out the first set.
The Tiny Universe Horns (Karl Denson & Chris Littlefield) returned to the stage for the second set, this time joined by Steve Berlin of Los Lobos fame. Kicking off the second set, Kyle Hollingsworth's "Rosie" got the crowd moving for the start of an incredible set that left the fans with that 'three thumbs up’ feeling by night's end. "Miss Brown's Teahouse" was up next, and sandwiched in the middle, "The Chicken" a song SCI had played with some regularity in the early days, but last played in 2005. Just getting the jazz groove warmed up, John Coltrane's "Impressions" was next, another old gem the band dusted off for this special show with special guests. Next up, another good friend from the past, Los Lobos' David Hidalgo joined the band on stage, and led the band into a special version of The Grateful Dead's "Bertha", a tune that they played together in 2000 at the Denver Fillmore. Slowing down the pace for a moment, Nershi's "Barstool" was next, followed by Keith Moseley's "Joyful Sound". Percussionists Michael Travis and Jason Hann took over with an drum/instrumental jam inspired by their EOTO collaborations - a chance for sound and lights to take the concert to a whole different place than from where it began. Returning to the stage, again with David Hidalgo on guitar, the ensemble finished the set with Kyle Hollingsworth's "Close Your Eyes", a rockin' finish to a really unique and special set.
For the encore, the band had one more guest from the past to bring back to the stage. Keller Williams, a.k.a. K-Dub was in the house. Keller and SCI collaborated on the album "Breathe" in 1999, and the title track was a fitting song to play to put the exclamation mark on a show which celebrated so many friends from the band's past. But not done yet, in the middle of "Breathe", Keller and the barefoot boys snuck in one of the biggest songs of 2013, "Royals" by Lorde, before jamming back to reprise "Breathe" and finish the night off in spectacular style.

*The 29th Acoustic Set is only available on the DVD and BluRay of the 29th*

Get the Discs

Get the Downloads


Set 1 Buy

1 BollyMunster 6:21
2 Sometimes A River 8:51
3 Rhum 'N Zouc 9:13
4 Okie From Muskogee 8:18
5 Song In My Head 6:59
6 Best Feeling 17:35
7 Restless Wind 11:14

Set 2 Buy

8 Rosie 8:40
9 Miss Brown's Teahouse 5:36
10 The Chicken 4:35
11 Miss Brown's Teahouse 1:59
12 Impressions 14:43
13 Bertha 12:47
14 Barstool 5:05
15 Joyful Sound 15:34
16 Close Your Eyes 8:54

Encore Buy

17 Breathe 10:28
18 Royals 3:37
19 Breathe 4:25
comments powered by Disqus