07.06.2013 The Backyard Austin, TX

Date 07.06.2013
Venue The Backyard
City Austin, TX

Show Notes

Fans of The String Cheese Incident filed into The Backyard for the final performance of the band's three-night run in Austin. The buzz and excitement abounded as show time approached. The band kicked off the show with the fan favorite "Miss Brown's Teahouse", which effortlessly wove Herbie Hancock's "Chameleon" into the middle of the "Miss Brown's" jam with keyboardist Kyle Hollingsworth playing a funky synth riff. By the time the band finished playing "Lost" in the first set, fans were touting the song-ending improvisational jam as the reason The String Cheese Incident is their favorite band. This jam segued into Jean Luc-Ponty's "Rhum 'N Zouc", a song that SCI has perfected over the years, and features Michael Kang's beautiful violin set against bassist Keith Moseley's afro-pop bass line. "Outside and Inside" began at dusk, and halfway through the song, the lights were fully queued and the mood was set for the wild evening ahead. The bluegrass-laden "Black Clouds" ended the set with guitarist Billy Nershi's sharp acoustic flatpicking.

The band took the stage for set two and jumped right into "Texas", a perfect choice that fans were predicting would make an appearance at some point in the band's first return to Austin in over six years. Some second set highlights were the dark and moody "Rivertrance" (a fan favorite electronic jig) and "Desert Dawn", a song that contained a new twist - a dubstep section that had fans throwing their arms in the air during the crescendo and ending the second set in spectacular fashion! For the encore, the band paid homage to one of Austin's heroes with a cover of Willie Nelson's "Whiskey River" that segued into the electrifying completion of "Texas". The fans gave the band roaring applause as they left the stage and capped off an incredible three nights of music in Austin!

Get the Discs

Get the Downloads

Three Show Bundle

Set 1 Buy

1 Miss Brown's Teahouse 6:03
2 Chameleon 4:12
3 Miss Brown's Teahouse 2:56
4 How Mountain Girls Can Love 3:54
5 Lost 13:06
6 Rhum 'N Zouc 14:22
7 Boogie On Reggae Woman 10:31
8 Outside and Inside 9:22
9 Black Clouds 13:28

Set 2 Buy

10 Texas 7:38
11 Sirens 12:19
12 Betray The Dark 8:01
13 Drums 7:15
14 Search 8:04
15 Piece of Mine 8:10
16 Rivertrance 12:59
17 Live Oak Jam 9:44
18 Desert Dawn 15:33

Encore 1 Buy

19 Whiskey River 7:56
20 Texas 5:37
comments powered by Disqus